Bringing the Cross Forward into My Life Today

All of my life I spent going backwards 2000 years to the Cross.  If I wanted the mercy of the Cross, to stand there with the Blessed Mother, if I wanted to pray underneath the Cross and look up at Jesus, I went back to the Day of the Crucifixion. 

A time to which I was not even born.  A time to which I did not live in.  A time to which I truly have no concept of, other than what I read.

Then something happened.  I read a book and in this book the statement was made:

“Unlike us, God is not limited by time and space.  He sees everything past present and future, all at once.  For God, everything is always present; God lives in the eternal now.”

Another statement made by the author was:

“Each moment you spend in Eucharistic Adoration, all that Christ won for you 2000 years ago on the cross at Calvary is applied to you now in your present moment and present place.  What He did then, affects you now.”

My notes:

  I realized I do not have to go back 2000 years to the Cross.  I do not have to go back 2000 years to receive what Jesus did for me on the Cross.  I do not have to go back there, to have a conversation with Him.

The Cross and all of its mercies and graces, are brought forth in the world I live in today. 

It is timeless and it is infinite.  The Cross and all Jesus did for us, knows no end and has no boundaries.  Especially the boundaries of time and space. 

God does not have these boundaries either.  Therefore, they all meet us in each moment of our lives, daily.

Everything about the Cross can be applied in our lives today, if we are willing to bring it forward.

Jesus does not ever expect us to go backwards, but to bring Him and His many gifts to ourselves.

So today when I pray:

I close my eyes and go into my soul.  There I see Him on the Cross, withering in pain and suffering.  A crown of thorns upon His head, and Blood flowing from every wound in His body.

I begin to speak to Him, “Jesus, You are here with me today.  To comfort and console me.  May each drop of your Blood fall on my face, so I will know the suffering You endured for me.  So that all of my sins, may be covered by such a sweet fragrance of love.”

Then I open my eyes to the world, the time and space that I live in.  It is offering to me many challenges.  Some may be heartache, suffering, or a tear or two shed. 

Then again, I may have no heartache, suffering, or any tear to shed.  I may have complete joy.

I only know this:

Jesus is so willing to come forward, into my space and time.  My world.  He truly is the only One who can. 

Him, His Cross and His love for us will keep coming forward,  for generations to come. 

 Time and space can never bound Him and His love.  Never will it bind what the Cross did for us.

We can either live like it does, or trust at any given moment we can bring the Cross and Jesus into our lives.  Embracing all they have to offer us, today!

God Bless, SR

Excerpts taken from:

“7 Secrets of Confession”

Written by:

Vinny Flynn

A must read!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholic Church, Catholicism, Christian, Christianity, Protestant, Religion, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I am a wife, mother, and grandmother. I enjoy nature, animals, drawing, quiet time, and praying. I also love to read the Bible, books about the lives of the Saints, and the history of the Catholic Church. You are welcome here. God Bless, SR

