Our Misery is “Exclusively Ours”

One thing I would like to address in this post is, misery.  As I scan the blog sphere, it seems as if there are so many Christians in “misery” in some form or fashion. 

Be it an illness, depression, a disorder of some sort, financial, family struggles, etc… (I am not excluding myself from these things, as I have suffered great misery for about a year.)  Anyways, I had to ask myself the question:

“Why are so many Christians suffering from so much misery in our lives, today?”

Then I remembered something Jesus told St. Faustina, (my patron saint) as she was offering him her “body, soul, intellect, will and all the sentiments of her heart.”

Jesus told her:

“You have not offered me that which is really yours.” 

St. Faustina said:

“I probed deeply into myself and found that I love God with all the faculties of my soul, and unable to see what I had not yet given to the Lord, I asked, “Jesus tell me what it is, and I will give it to you at once with a generous heart.”  #1318

Jesus said:

“Daughter give me your misery, because it is your exclusive property.”

St. Faustina begin to as she stated, “nestle close to the most Sacred Heart of Jesus.”  “Trusting in His mercy even if she had the sins of the damned weighing on her conscience.”

My notes:

St. Faustina trusted Jesus with everything.  She is my patron saint and I always say, “She chose me, I did not choose her.”  I am extremely grateful to her for many things.

There is something in this conversation she had with Jesus that always stood out to me:

“Jesus did not take her misery, she had to give it to Him.”

As I look at the picture on this post which is:

“The Grotto of the Agony”

by

James Tissot

Christ was in so much misery.  Misery you and I will never be able to comprehend.  The beauty of that is:

Jesus understands the suffering of our misery.  Go back and really think about that picture.  It is misery all over the place, even though the angels are all around Him.

They are around us in our misery.

But:

When Jesus was in the Agony of the Garden, “the angel comforted Him.”  It is different for us.

When we are in the “agony of our garden,”Jesus wants our miserable agony.  He is not going take it, but is “offering to, if we will only give it to Him.”

At times we get our own selves into these situations and sometimes life just brings them to us.  It is not how misery enters into our life, it is what we do with it, when it does.

We can either stress ourselves to death, because as Jesus told St. Faustina:

“Our misery is “exclusively ours.” 

Or:

We can entrust it to, Christ.

Holding on to our misery at times, I think becomes a habit.  In fact, I think at times we wonder, “How will I live without it?” 

Our misery, actually becomes a part of us, and at times we are afraid to live without it.  We let it define who we actually, believe ourselves to be.

Jesus knows this, and He also knows “this is not who we are” nor were we “created to be such.”

Our choice is to give it to Him, or hang on to it.  If we hang on to it, there will never be peace in our lives.

Prayer:

Lord, I stretch out my hand’s to You, and out of them flows all of my misery, to You.

God Bless, SR

Excerpts taken from:
Divine Mercy in My Soul
Diary of Saint Maria Faustina

 

 

 

This entry was posted in angels, Catholic, Catholic Church, Catholicism, Christian, Christianity, Protestant, Religion, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our Misery is “Exclusively Ours”

  1. Menny Thoughts says:

    I will definitely look up St. Faustina. You’ve mentioned her before to me but after reading her words , I have become extremely intrigued because I can see myself as she was.

    Do you have an email? If its not a problem, id like to correspond with you and chat more deeply about the faith. Perhaps we can be a blessing to each other.

    Let me know if you’re interested, if not I understand

    Like

    • SR says:

      Hey Menny,

      Sure. All I ask is that we keep it to one a week. I am extremely busy this time of the year, so that is about all the time I have. I am going to be blogging once a week on things she did state in her Diary. I bought her book on a Friday. It was before I converted into the Church in February. It was raining so could not do much. I started reading it on Friday and never put it down until I was through on Sunday. The next post on her, is what she taught me about grace. She is the saint Jesus gave the Chaplet of Divine Mercy, to.

      As far as email I have yours on the comment section of my blog. I will email you so you can get mine. God Bless, SR

      Like

I am a wife, mother, and grandmother. I enjoy nature, animals, drawing, quiet time, and praying. I also love to read the Bible, books about the lives of the Saints, and the history of the Catholic Church. You are welcome here. God Bless, SR

