The “Breath of God”

For some reason in my spiritual life, I have always had problems connecting the Holy Spirit to God.  It is not that I did not know He is the “Spirit of God.”  I guess with my inquisitive mind, I knew there was more to it. 

First, let me explain, I knew God was God.  I also knew Jesus was “God Man,” and was also the “Son of God.”  So the two of Them I could connect as one.

When it came to the Holy Spirit, to me, He was sort of out there by Himself in my life.  For some reason I always related to Him differently, and could not connect Him as “One” with God and Jesus.

Of course I prayed about this and this is how I finally accomplished it.

I started reading my Bible through again, starting with Genesis.  I got to the part where God created Adam:

“Then the Lord God formed man from the dust of the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and the man became a living being.”

I had to ask myself, “Is the Holy Spirit the “breath of God?”

I begin to look up the word “breath.”  It correlated with God many times in the Bible.  It was always God and the “breath” which was breathed on someone. 

Also, when I read the creation story, God “spoke” everything into existence, except for Adam.  Adam was “formed” from the earth, and then God “breathed” His “breath” inside of him.

I understood, the Holy Spirit flows from the very “nostrils” of God, and is “life giving.”

Today I refer to Him as,

“The Breath of God.”

I realized something else also:

Jesus, the Holy Spirit, myself, you, the ground we walk on, the air we breathe, the sky above us, animals, the moon, stars, every single thing around us and including us, are all connected to God, in some form or fashion. 

I truly believe this is what Jesus knew, and no one understood.  Without the Holy Spirit, we cannot understand this either.  He leads and guides us into the truth of it all. 

More importantly, as the Holy Spirit is one in God, because He lives in us, we are “one” also in God.  Created in His image.

We cannot get out here and try to make it with, one or two thirds of the Trinity.  There are three parts to God:

God Himself, His Son, and His Spirit.

God loves us so much, He actually created us by “breathing His own spirit of life, within us.”

This is why, we are so amazingly made.  This is why we are such a masterpiece. 

The very essence of God, dwells in each and every one of us.

Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

God Bless, SR

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Catholic Church, Catholicism, Christian, Christianity, Holy Spirit, Protestant, Religion, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I am a wife, mother, and grandmother. I enjoy nature, animals, drawing, quiet time, and praying. I also love to read the Bible, books about the lives of the Saints, and the history of the Catholic Church. You are welcome here. God Bless, SR

